Art Goat
Arrowmont School of Arts and Craftsresidency

Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts Artists-in-Residence Program

Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts Artists-in-Residence Program — Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts
Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts logo
Details
Housing: Residents live on campus in Pollard Residency House with spacious private bedrooms, private bathrooms, a shared kitchen and common living area, and a shared computer with internet access; bedrooms are furnished, internet equipped, and cable ready.
  • Who Can Apply: Early-career artists who are self-motivated and community-minded; five residents are selected each year. No citizenship rule is stated, but the 11-month residency includes paid work for Arrowmont and no visa support is mentioned, so in practice it suits artists who can live and work in the United States.
  • The Focus: An 11-month, self-directed studio residency on Arrowmont's craft-school campus in Gatlinburg, Tennessee, with two gallery exhibitions, ArtReach teaching experience, weekly artist talks and professional development.
  • The Funding: Residents get a private 12 x 18 ft studio, a private bedroom and bathroom in Pollard Residency House, meals when workshops are in session, and a modest monthly stipend (amount not stated) in exchange for at least 10 hours of work per week, plus funded conference and development opportunities.
  • Key Requirements: Apply online through Arrowmont's SlideRoom between November 15, 2026 and January 15, 2027 for the 2027-2028 residency. The official page does not list the application materials or any fee.
Applications openNovember 15, 2026
DeadlineFriday, January 15, 2027
StipendModest monthly stipend in exchange for a minimum of 10 hours per week of work; amount not stated.
Duration11 months
LocationGatlinburg, TN
Open toArtists in the United States
ParticipationOn-site
Career stagesEmerging
Disciplinescraft, ceramics, wood, metals, fiber, paper, textiles, 2D arts, sculpture
Application notesApply through SlideRoom (open November 15, 2026 to January 15, 2027). Residents work at least 10 hours per week for Arrowmont (gallery installations, events, community partnerships, studios, PR, marketing) in exchange for the stipend, teach ArtReach classes when workshops are not in session, present weekly artist talks during the workshop season, and may host open studios. Residents supply their own studio equipment, tools and materials; meals outside workshop sessions are their own responsibility. Questions: Kelly Hider, khider@arrowmont.org.
Contactkhider@arrowmont.org
Hosted by

Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts

Organization based in Gatlinburg